Landmark Honors and Awards

The Landmark Conference hands out a series of awards each year for academics and athletics.

Athletic Awards Structure

Landmark All-Conference: At the end of each athletic season, the Landmark Conference recognizes student-athletes with All-Conference honors. In cross country, swimming and diving, and track and field, the teams are decided based on each individual's finish at the Landmark Championships. For swimming and diving and track and field, the first place finisher in each event is designated as First Team All-Conference and the second place finisher is named to the Second Team. In cross country the first seven finishers are named to the First Team and those finishing 8-14 are on the Second Team. In all other sports, the conference coaches vote for those players they feel should be recognized with conference honors. Each sport names a Player of the Year or Most Outstanding Performer of the Year along with a Rookie of the Year. Many sports designate Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year or Track Performer and Field Performer. Every sport recognizes a Coaching Staff of the Year.

Landmark Championship MVP: At the conclusion of each championship game of a team sport, the host sports information director will select a most valuable player (MVP). The selection of the MVP will be based on an individual's performance over the entire championship. The MVP will be recognized at the championship awards ceremony and presented with a certificate following the event.

Landmark Athletes of the Week: The conference will recognize a student-athlete for each sport based on their contributions to their team throughout the season as the Athlete of the Week. An offensive and defensive player will be chosen for soccer, field hockey and lacrosse. Track and field will have two honorees and baseball and softball will honor a player and pitcher of the week.

Landmark Presidents' Trophy: The Presidents' Trophy was created in the inaugural year of the conference to recognize the best overall athletics program. The Trophy is awarded based on a formula that rewards institutions for regular season conference standings as well as results in Landmark postseason competition.

Academic Awards Structure

Landmark Academic Honor Roll: Will be named following each athletic season (Fall, Winter, Spring) and will consist of all student athletes competing in the respective season of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or better. 

Landmark All-Academic Team: Discontinued after the 2012-13 academic year. Consisted of two males and two females from each institution of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better. Selections were made by each institution using its own criteria and submitted to the conference office.

Landmark Senior Scholar Athlete: Will be named following each athletic season. Seniors only with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or better will be eligible for the award. One honoree will be chosen for each sport sponsored by the Landmark Conference. Nominations will be submitted to the conference office, and an awards committee made up of two Sports Information Directors, two Athletics Directors, two Senior Woman Administrators, and two Faculty Athletic Representatives, who will select the recipients. Award is designed to honor a student-athlete who has excelled athletically and academically.


Landmark All-Sportsmanship Team: The Landmark Conference All-Sportsmanship Team was created by the Landmark Student-Athlete Advisory Committee in 2013. It recognizes student-athletes who epitomize the ideals of sportsmanship. Each team will nominate one individual who embodies these ideals throughout the season to be a member of the Landmark All-Sportsmanship team. These individuals will be selected by their own team and coaching staff and submitted to the Conference Office. Only one student from each team shall be honored. Each nominee has achieved varsity status as a member of their team.

Landmark Sportsmanship Cup: The Landmark Conference Sportsmanship Cup was created by the Landmark Student-Athlete Advisory Committee in 2009 and discontinued following the 2012-13 academic year. It was created to recognize the institution who best demonstrated good sportsmanship during a given year. Throughout the year, coaches in collaboration with their captains ranked the top three teams in their sport. The team with the highest point total in each sport were recognized as the team sportsmanship winner. At the end of the year, each school's point total will be divided by the number of Landmark sports its sponsors to determine the Landmark Sportsmanship Cup winner.


NCAA Postgraduate Scholars: Created in 1964, NCAA postgraduate scholarships promote and encourage education by rewarding the Association’s most accomplished student-athletes. To qualify, student-athletes must excel academically and athletically, be in their final year of eligibility and plan to pursue graduate study. Student-athletes must also maintain at least a 3.2 grade-point average and be nominated by their institution’s faculty athletics representative.


CoSIDA Academic All-America Program: To be eligible for Academic All-America® consideration, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her current institution and be nominated by his/her sports information director. Since the program’s inception in 1952, CoSIDA has bestowed Academic All-America honors on more than 16,000 student-athletes in Divisions I, II, III and NAIA, covering all NCAA championship sports. The program is currently sponsored by the Capital One Financial Corporation (2011-Present) and previously sponsored by ESPN The Magazine (2004–2010), Verizon (2000–04) and GTE (1985–2000). For more information about the Academic All-America® Teams program, please visit