Landmark Conference History

(Updated Mar. 1, 2014)

The Landmark Conference formed in 2005 and began competition in the fall of 2007. The group of like-minded institutions from the mid-Atlantic region joined forces to organize and operate intercollegiate athletic competition in a manner that recognizes, as paramount, the centrality of the academic mission at each institution, while embracing the idea that athletics competition is an important component of the undergraduate experience.

A group of presidents met in November of 2005 and discussed creating an organization to engage in athletic competition. The Catholic University of America, Drew University, Goucher College, Juniata College, Moravian College, Stevens Institute of Technology, Susquehanna University, and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy leaders officially committed to the new league in February of 2006. Stevens withdrew from the Landmark a short time later, but the presidents met later that year and invited the University of Scranton to join the original eight.

The conference added two affiliate members from 2010-11. Washington & Jefferson College joined the conference as an affiliate in men’s lacrosse in November of 2010 and began competition in 2012. Marywood University came on board in 2011 as an affiliate in swimming and diving for 2012-13.

Expansion was discussed again in 2013 as the league presidents convened for their annual February meeting. The group moved forward with expansion and invited Elizabethtown College to join the Landmark March 26, 2013. Elizabethtown’s softball and women’s lacrosse teams are scheduled to compete as affiliates in 2013-14, before the college becomes the Landmark’s ninth full member July 1, 2014.

The conference sponsors 20 championships and 11 sports feature automatic qualifying bids to the NCAA Division III tournament.

John Reeves was hired as the first commissioner September 1, 2006 and helped establish the conference’s strong foundation before retiring at the end of the 2011-12 year. Dan Fisher was named his successor April 4, 2012. The conference officially became incorporated as not-for-profit November 19, 2013.

Historical Timeline of Key Events